A Quick Overview of Pennsylvania’s Criminal Penalties for DUI
In Pennsylvania, people charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol face serious penalties upon conviction, even if it’s their first offense. The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit is .08 percent, and some individuals may test over that limit after having just a couple drinks.
The following are the standard penalties for DUI in Pennsylvania:
- First offense: You may face fines up to $300 and a possible ignition interlock device (IID) installed on your vehicle. This breathalyzer device prevents your car from starting until you blow into a mouthpiece and your BAC registers under the legal limit.
- Second offense: If your second conviction is within 10 years of the first, you may face fines between $300 and $2,500 and a 12-month suspended driver license, along with five days to six months in jail. The court may also mandate an IID.
- Third offense: A third DUI conviction within 10 years comes with fines up to $5,000, 10 days to two years in jail, a 12-month license suspension and a mandatory IID installation.
If you get pulled over on suspicion of DUI, a law enforcement officer may ask you to undergo a chemical test to determine your BAC. Refusing to take this test could result in a one-year license suspension on the first offense, with longer suspension periods in place if you have refused a test more than once in the past 10 years.
As you can see, there are some serious consequences for driving under the influence in Pennsylvania. To protect your constitutional rights, work with an experienced Pittsburgh DUI defense lawyer at Feldstein Grinberg Lang & McKee, P.C.